American and Delta offering promotions on new lounge memberships through December 31, 2012

Both American and Delta are running promotions right now for lounge memberships.

American is offering 3,000 bonus AAdvantage miles for new Admirals Club memberships through December 31, 2012 (renewals don’t seem to qualify). Registration is required using promotion code QPN12, and the bonus miles should post 6-8 weeks after the end of the promotion.

The cost for Admirals Club memberships is as follows:

Delta is offering either two additional months or 1,500 bonus Medallion Qualifying Miles on a new or renewed one to three year SkyClub membership.

Delta’s SkyClub pricing is as follows:

If you were thinking of getting a membership or renewing this would probably be a good time to do so. That being said in both cases I think an American Express Platinum card is a better value, as it gets you access to American Admirals Clubs and Delta SkyClubs, and has an annual fee of $450. You then get a $200 airline fee credit per calendar year, which means the first year’s annual fee will get you $400 worth of airline fee credits, essentially making the annual fee $50 for the first year (and $250 for each subsequent year). That’s a much better value than either membership, in my opinion!


  1. And the Amex includes Global Entry, plus the first time point bonus, plus usually great customer service.

  2. Wow. You notated DL, AA, an AMEX and didn’t provide a referral link to any of them. You must be watching more FOX News these days – just reporting the news. Quite refreshing!

  3. Can u explain how we get $400 in airlkine credit when it says $200 per calendar year? Does this mean that u dopnt loose it if u dont use it?

  4. @ anand — The annual fee is on a rolling 12 month basis, while the $200 airline fee credit is annual. That’s to say that if you apply for the card now you’ll pay the $450 annual fee, and then you have the card without a further fee through next November. Meanwhile you get a $200 airline fee credit for both 2012 and 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *